Vote sign

Elections are scheduled for the City of West Columbia and the Town of Springdale and seven other Lexington County municipalities, Tuesday, Nov. 5.

In the City of West Columbia Mayor Bobby Horton is not running for re-election. The two candidates for mayor are West Columbia Mayor Pro Tem, Tem Miles and Madison Duncan.

For City Council District 2 Incumbent Robert “Trevor” Bedell is the only candidate.

There are two candidates for City Council District 4 –They are: Ronnie Lindler and Joseph Dickey.

The only candidate for City Council District 6 is Incumbent Jimmy Brooks

There are four candidates for City Council District 8. They are Jan Anderson; Dave Shaw; Rod Lorick; and David Benjamin Moye.

There are three candidates running for seats on Town Springdale Town Council. They are: Viki Sox Fecas; Steve Hallman; and Cory Hook.

Irmo residents will vote on a referendum. 

In the Town of Batesburg-Leesville Olin E Gambrell III has filed for Town Council District 2.

Johnnie Mae Speach-Lemon and Charles Simpkins are running for the Town Council District 4 seat.

Twonna Williamson and – Paul Wise are running for the Town Council District 6 seat.

Eric Gambrell and Bob D Hall are running tfor the Town Council District 8 seat.

For Irmo Mayor Hardy King (Incumbent); Barry A Walker, Sr.; and Mike Ward are running.

Julius D Waites; Dan Newbanks; Mark Pouliot; Erik Sickinger Town and Kelly Busch are running for Irmo Town Council.

The Town of Irmo Referendum asks voters: 1. Should the town overturn the No Parking in the Yard ordinance?; 2. Should the town bring back a property tax to provide more services and 3; Should the town approve a Hospitality Tax to pay for more tourism-related events?

Mike Clonts and Kay Hollis are running for seats on the Chapin

David Reese is running for mayor in the Town of Summit.

Neal Petty and Mike Hartley are running for Summit Town Council seats.

The Town of Pelion has two Town Council seats open with no filers. Election is by write-in.

Beth Spires Sturkie and Daniel Davis are running for Town of Pine Ridge

Town Council seats.

Doris W. Simmons and Ray Spires are running for the Town of Swansea

Town Council District 4 seat. Michael G. Luongo is running for the Swansea Town Council District 3 seat.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.