laila acox

Ridge View's Laila Acox. Photo from Ridge View Twitter

The Midlands had four basketball programs finish No. 1 in the SC Basketball Coaches Association's Top 10 rankings.

So, it's not surprising to see six players mostly from those same teams included in this year's All-State selection list and winning Player of the Year honors.

Top-ranked WJ Keenan swept the Class 3A Player of the Year honors. MiLaysia Fulwiley won for a second straight year as she shared the honor with Camden's Joyce Edwards and Jazian Gortman won in boys.

Ridge View's Laila Acox shared Class 5A Player of the Year honors with Clover's Aleysia Wade. Robert McCray of top-ranked AC Flora won in Class 4A and Saluda's Kalisha Hill was named Player of the Year in Class 2A.

In all, 28 Midlands players made the SCBCA All-State team.

boys basketball

A.C. Flora guard Robert McCray. Photo courtesy of AC Flora Athletics




Player of the Year: Jalen Breazeale, Dorman

Alexei Iturbe, Riverside

Gregory Jackson, Ridge View

Julian Phillips, Blythewood

Tyler Rice, Ridge View

AJ Thompson, Northwestern

Yaturi Bolton, Goose Creek

Demetri Simmons, Goose Creek

Jahleel Porter, West Ashley

Davion Joiner, Fort Dorchester

Undre Lindsay, Gaffney

Myles Jenkins, River Bluff

Houston Jones, Dutch Fork

Corbin Pack, Carolina Forest

Mike Herrin, Socastee

James Lovorn, TL Hanna


Player of the Year: Robert McCray V, AC Flora

Jacob Brown, Travelers Rest

Kain James, Easley

Jaleel Skinner, Greer

Dalen Boyles, Greenwood

Omazeon Tinsley, Lancaster

Quan Peterson, South Pointe

Dylan Williams, Irmo

RJ Felton, Aiken

Donavan Hodge, South Aiken

Ayden Hickman, Myrtle Beach

Cesare Edwards, Hartsville

Will McCracken, Hilton Head

Bailey Wiseman, James Island

Janyle Pittman, Lancaster

Colin Rodrigues, North Augusta


Player of the Year: Jazian Gortman, Keenan

Jared Rogers, Seneca

Justin Bailey, Blue Ridge

Banks Atkins, Chapman

Jordan Simpson, Orangeburg-Wilkinson

DreVeon Scott, Marlboro County

Demarico Bethea, Dillon

Daniel Brooks, Bishop England

Slater Miller, West-Oak

Jaheim Dodd, Berea

Dyon Bartley, Woodruff

Darian Bookman, Mid-Carolina

Aubrey Richardson, Brookland-Cayce

Jaqcorey Melton, Lakewood

Victor Otubu, Waccamaw

David Smith, Battery Creek


Player of the Year: John Butler, Christ Church

Isaiah Washington, Landrum

Chase McDuffie, Gray Collegiate

Timothy Barnes, Gray Collegiate

Brandon Garnder, Gray Collegiate

Ca’Darrius Sowell, Andrew Jackson

Brandon Brantley, Wade Hampton

Micheal Shuler, Woodland High

TJ Sanders, Marion

Kory Davis, York Prep

Marshall Myers, Cheraw

Russell Branch, Barnwell

Allen Kuria, Greer Middle College

Miles Haight, Philip Simmons

Moses Kemp, Crescent

Trevon Miles, Latta



Co-Player of the Year: Alyesha Wade, Clover & Laila Acox, Ridge View

Janiyah Hagood, JL Mann

Jada T. Jones, Rock HIll

Jasmine Jenkins, White Knoll

Najah Gilliam, Byrnes

Kiara Croskey, Sumter

Dylan Silber, Wando

Vanessa Blake, Ashley Ridge

Alexis Sexton, Lexington

Kristen Jenkins, West Ashley

Alaina Nettles, Cane Bay

Mackenzie Cochrane, St. James

Allie Niles, Carolina Forest

Janelle Carter, Clover

Anaya Muhammad, Woodmont


Player of the Year: Kiana Lee, North Augusta

Tabitha Littlefield, Greer

Victoria Jordan, Catawba Ridge

Maliyiah Mason, Irmo

Mallory Bruce, Traveler's Rest

Daveona Hatchell, North Myrtle Beach

Layla Warren, Beaufort

Destiny Middleton, Westside

Jayla Jamison, Airport

Najah Lane, South Pointe

Malayziah Etheredge, Westwood

J'Adore Young, Greenville

Summer Joseph, Darlington

Tacoya Heyward, Bluffton

Amber Burton, Dreher

Amirah Nelson, Myrtle Beach


Co-Player of the Year: MiLaysia Fulwiley, Keenan & Joyce Edwards, Camden

Ke’Asia Anderson, Chapman

Somarian Webb, Pendleton

Riley Stack, Wren

Kamari Thompson, Southside

Quadajia Langley, Blue Ridge

Corteria Chestnut, Loris

Jaiha Williams, Bishop England

Lily Woods, Bishop England

Sincere Hicks, Daniel

Anala Nelson, Lower Richland

Kendahl Spearman, Emerald

Shar’dasia Zeigler, Orangeburg Williamson

Paris Gartmon, Gilbert

Jailyn Oree, Keenan


Player of the Year: Kalisha Hill, Saluda

McCall King, Christ Church

Madeline Duwe, Christ Church

Mikala Logan, Blacksburg

Caroline Roller, Brashier Middle College

Titiana Garrison, Newberry

Tamia Watkins, Andrew Jackson

Raeleigh Rivers, Chesterfield

Kalyn Glover, Silver Bluff

Maleah Williams, Barnwell

Kimani Green, Woodland


Player of the Year: Talaysia Cooper, East Clarendon

Hannah Fuller, Southside Christian

Jaylin Peterson, McBee

Rishona Washington, Blackville-Hilda

Ja’Niyah Waters, Lake View

Tamya Hutchinson, Estill

Kynew Barnwell, Whale Branch

Kaderrah Beason, High Point Academy

Patriece Hayes, CA Johnson

Jaliyah Bussey, Ridge Spring Monetta

Cambria Parker, Scott’s Branch

Aniya Gates, Lamar

Kadejah Smoak, Estill

Chazmin Bradley, Military Magnet

Aniyah Jones, Denmark-Olar

Taia Gattis, Cross

1. (PHOTO | AC FLORA ATHLETICS) - A.C. Flora guard Robert McCray

2. (PHOTO | TWITTER) Ridge View's Laila Acox

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.