File photo

As with many other races, the results were slow to arrive for Richland and Lexington County school board elections. As of Wednesday evening, however, the Lexington County results were complete with more than 90% of the votes counted in all the Richland County races.

Richland School District One

With 97% of precincts reporting for District 1 Seat 2, Jamie Devine leads Jacquelyn Hurston, 9,445 votes to 7,921. 80 write-in votes were also cast.

Cheryl Hinton Harris has a commanding lead in the District 1 Seat 4 race: 10,920 to 5,520 over Shannon Edmund Williams with 95% of precincts reporting.

With 99% of precincts reporting, Angela Clyburn has a likely insurmountable lead for the District 1 at large seat, holding a more than 13,000 vote advantage over second place Tamika Myers in the six-candidate race.

Richland School District Two

The District 2 race featured 10 candidates battling for three open seats. With 98% of precincts reporting, Monica Elkins has 20.18% of the votes, followed by Lindsay Agostini with 16.65% and Lashonda McFadden with 13.46%. James Jamie Shadd is fourth with 10.91%.

Lexington-Richland School District Five

Voters made big changes to the District 5 board, with Chairman Michael Cates voted out and longtime board member Robert Gantt currently on track to be ousted.

Catherine Huddle and Rebecca Blackburn Hines won the two available seats on the Lexington side, with 31.40% and 25.85% of the votes respectively.

In Richland County, Matt Hogan leads Gantt by 1,774 votes with 96% of precincts reporting.

Lexington School District One

Lexington One voters sent three incumbents back for another term on the board of trustees and added a new member.

With 11 candidates on the ballot and four seats open, more than 149,000 votes were cast, and Kathy Henson became not only the only non-incumbent chosen, but the overall leader in votes, earning 20,942 (14.1%).

Henson was followed by incumbents Anne Marie Green (13.96%), Brent Powers (10.8%) and Mike Anderson (9.84%). Chris Rice fell short of a seat by 677 votes, narrowly trailing Anderson.

Lexington School District Two

In District Two, voters returned two incumbent trusteed to the school board to be joined by two new members.

With nine candidates on the ballot, incumbent Cindy Kessler finished first with 17.51% of the votes, followed by fellow incumbent Beth Dickerson Branham with 16.92%. Newcomers Liz Chitty Castles and Abbott Bray claimed seats with 13.6% and 10.47% respectively.

Lexington School District Three

Sonya Winstead Cary, Craig A. Caughman, Stacey B. Derrick and Leon Drafts were elected with no opposition aside from 87 write-in votes.

Voters approved two ballot questions, allowing the district to borrow up to $50 million dollars in general obligation bonds to fund renovations at B-L Primary, B-L Elementary and B-L High Schools and to borrow up to $15 million dollars in general obligation bonds to finance the costs of constructing and equipping a new media center at B-L Primary School and a new competition gym at B-L High School. 

Lexington School District Four

With five candidates on the ballot and only four seats available, Quincy Cardell Sutton was the odd man out in District Four. Lynne B. Fallaw, Chris Pound, Daniel Martin and Sadie Kirkland Wannamaker were elected.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.