The Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas released its 2021 South Carolina team roster Tuesday. Midlands players made up 12 of the 44 players selected to the Sandlappers:

  • Running back KZ Adams (Gray Collegiate)
  • Safety Nick Emmanwori (Irmo)
  • Wide receiver Antonio Williams (Dutch Fork)
  • Wide receiver Zavier Short (Chapin)
  • Wide receiver Zach Chalmers (Newberry)
  • Offensive lineman Tray Franklin (Ridge View)
  • Offensive linemen Alec Johnson and Chase Sweigert (both of Chapin)
  • Offensive lineman Ethan Benson (Dutch Fork)
  • Linebacker Owen Plane (Brookland-Cayce)
  • Linebacker Tyrell Green (AC Flora)
  • Defensive line Ky Tayo (Spring Valley)

The players were selected to the Sandlappers team, who hoped to play this year in Spartanburg prior to the game's cancellation for the second straight year due to COVID.

Many of the senior players selected will take part in the Touchstone Energy Cooperatives North-South Game Dec. 11 at Doug Shaw Stadium in Myrtle Beach and the Carolina Bowl Dec. 12 at Gaffney High School.

In addtion, Lexington cross-country athletes Judson Taylor, Zane Jeffcoat and Owen Harries were named to the Shrine Bowl Run team.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.