jay koon

Lexington County Sheriff Jay Koon with wife, Kimberly, at a celebratory election night party Tuesday.

According to scvotes.org, there were 38,371 ballots cast by residents of Lexington County in Tuesday's primary. Polling stations were open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., with special COVID-19 safety precautions in-place.

The results are as follows:

US Senate:

Lindsey Graham  64.45%

Michael LaPierre  14.64%

Joe Reynolds  13.61%

Duke Buckner  7.30%

US House of Representatives District 2:

Joe Wilson  70.71%

Michael Bishop  29.29%

State Senate District 18:

Ronnie Cromer  51.85%

Charles Bumgardner  48.15%

State Senate District 20:

Benjamin Dunn  71.74%

Randy Dickey  28.26%

State Senate District 25:

Shane Massey  75.52%

Susan J Swanson  24.48%

State Senate District 26:

Chris Smith  68.05%

Perry Finch  31.95%

State House of Representatives District 88:

Mike Sturkie  34.60%

RJ May  24.54%

John Lastinger  17.19%

Brian Duncan  13.93%

Eddie McCain  9.73%

State House of Representatives District 96:

D Ryan McCabe  54.77%

Kit Spires  45.23%


Jay Koon  70.21%

David Arnold  29.79%

County Council District 5:

Gene Bimbo Jones  60.87%

Joel Tyson  39.13%

County Council District 6:

Charli Wessinger  57.35%

Johnny W Jeffcoat  42.65%

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.