New Lexington 2 School Board members sworn in, Board Chairman elected

Linda Alford-Wooten, left, J.M. “Bud” Summers and Christina Rucker took the oath of office Tuesday.

From Dawn Kujawa, Lexington Two Communications Director

Lexington Two’s newly elected board members were sworn in and officers selected during a special meeting Tuesday night.

The newest board members, Christina Rucker and J.M. “Bud” Summers, along with returning member Linda Alford-Wooten, took the oath of office. They were the top vote-getters in the Nov. 6 election.

Also, during Tuesday’s meeting, Bill Bingham was elected board chair, Kevin Key vice-chair, and Rucker secretary.

Tuesday’s meeting started with a farewell to two outgoing board members: Brad Giles and Cay Kessler, who is retiring.

The first regular monthly meeting of the new board is set for 7 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 15.

Categories: Cayce, Education, Lexington County, West Columbia