Republicans sweep statewide offices, Joe Wilson re-elected to U.S. House

US Rep. Joe Wilson.

Incumbent S.C. Attorney General Alan Wilson defeated Democrat Constance Anastopoulo Tuesday, winning a third four-year term as the state’s top prosecutor.

Republican Molly Spearman easily won a second term as the state’s Superintendent of Education. She had no opposition on the ballot.
Republican Mark Hammond of Spartanburg won his fifth term as secretary of state. Hammond faced Democrat Melvin Whittenburg of Columbia.

West Columbia Republican Curtis Loftis was re-elected to his third term as South Carolina’s treasurer. There were two candidates challenging Loftis — Democrat Rosalyn Glenn of Wellford, a former banking administrator and financial consultant, and Sarah Work, an accountant running on the American Party ticket.

GOP incumbent Richard Eckstrom of Lexington County won as he ran unopposed for comptroller general. It will be his fifth term in the office.

Republican Agriculture Commissioner Hugh Weathers of Bowman won his office. He was challenged by David Edmond of the Green Party and Chris Nelums of United Citizens Party.
In the 2nd District race for the U.S. House of Representatives, Republican U.S. Rep. Joe Wilson of Springdale easily defeated Democrat Sean Carrigan.

Categories: Columbia, Elections, Richland County