River Bluff High’s principal named 2019 National Principal of the Year

Principal Lucas Clamp.  Photo from River Bluff website.

River Bluff High School’s Principal Lucas Clamp was just named the National Association of Secondary School Principals’ 2019 Principal of the Year. Clamp found out he had won the award Thursday morning at a school pep rally. Governor Henry McMaster and state Superintendent Molly Spearman were also there for the award presentation.

The prestigious award has now been given to a Lexington County principal two years in a row. Clamp follows behind former Chapin High School principal Dr. Akil Ross, who won the NASSP award last year (Ross has since been promoted).

According to their website, “The NASSP National Principal of the Year program recognizes outstanding middle level and high school principals who have succeeded in providing high-quality learning opportunities for students as well as demonstrating exemplary contributions to the profession.”

The NASSP website explained the reasons why Clamp was considered for the position. “His commitment to closing the achievement gap with African American students prompted teachers to provide unique, differentiated learning experiences and intervention, and over three years, scores have risen from 42.9 percent to 68.6 percent in ELA, and 65.8 percent to 87.9 percent in math. The overall graduation rate has also increased to 94.1 percent.”

Categories: Education, Lexington, Lexington County