Some races come down to wire in primary runoff

Voters in Richland and Lexington counties trickled into polling places to cast their ballots in Tuesday’s primary runoff.

Richland County

Ivory Thigpen won the race for the South Carolina House of Representatives District 79 seat, taking 64 percent of the vote over Monica Elkins.

And Dahli Myers won the runoff for the Richland County Council District 10 primary with 69 percent of the vote over opponent Bernice Scott. Myers also won the special election to fill the remainder of the term for the District 10 seat, which was left vacant by ousted Councilman Kelvin Washington.

Lexington County

Lexington County saw several close races, many of which came down to just a few votes. Unofficial results from the state Election Commission show Lisa Comer edging out Emily Hinson for clerk of court Republican primary runoff, with Comer capturing 6,698 votes to Hinson’s 6,571.

The race for Lexington County Council’s District 6 seat was separated by fewer than 100 votes. Erin Long Bergeson tallied 1,319 votes in the Republican primary runoff, while Dino Teppara earned 1,249 votes, according to unofficial results from the Election Commission.

The Lexington County Council District 3 race was a bit more decisive, with Darrell Hudson taking 55 percent of the vote over Brad Matthews.

Rick Hubbard was declared the victor in the 11th Circuit solicitor primary runoff, earning 61 percent of the vote over Candice Lively.

Tina Guerry took the victory in the register of deeds primary runoff, capturing 53 percent of the vote in the race against Rich Bolen.

And the Republican primary runoff for the S.C. House District 89 seat saw Micah Caskey defeat Tem Miles with 67 percent of the vote.

Categories: Elections, Lexington County, Politics, Richland County