Spring candidate filing opens; Lexington County to have several contested races

From clerk of court to coroner to county council, several local offices in Lexington County are being contested this election season.

Candidate filing opened Wednesday for multiple offices, including Lexington County sheriff, Lexington County coroner and five county council seats.

Incumbent Sheriff Jay Koon is the only person to file so far for the job overseeing the county’s law enforcement. Koon was named to the post in a 2015 special election following the indictment of former sheriff James Metts.

Register of Deeds Debbie Gunter is retiring, and three candidates are in the running so far to succeed her. Chapin resident Tina Guerry announced her intention to run, and two other candidates, Rich Bolen and Joyce Munsch, filed Wednesday.

Also retiring is Beth Carrigg, Lexington County’s clerk of court. Elections officials said Lisa Comer was the lone candidate to file Wednesday, but Mollie Taylor and Emily Hinson have announced their candidacy.

Candidates have until noon on March 30 to file.

Candidates in Lexington County races who have filed are as follows:

County Council District 1

Jim Kinard (incumbent)

Scotty Whetstone

County Council District 3

Darrell Hudson

Colin  Thain

County Council District 4

Debbie Summers (incumbent)

Gene Wilbur

County Council District 5

Brian Duncan

Bobby Keisler (incumbent)

County Council District 6

Councilman Johnny Jeffcoat does not plan to seek re-election. No candidates filed on day 1.


Glenn Ross

Country Treasurer

Jim Eckstrom (incumbent)

Lexington County’s State House representatives

House District 69 – Rick Quinn (incumbent)

House District 85 – Chip Huggins (incumbent)

House District 87 – Todd Atwater (incumbent)

House District 88 – Mac Toole (incumbent)

House District 89 – Micajah Caskey, Billy Oswald (Incumbent Kenny Bingham is not seeking re-election.)

House District 96 – Kit Spires (incumbent)

Information provided by the Lexington County Elections Commission as of 5 p.m. March 16.


Categories: Elections